Right to compensation for a Bus Accident Victim :
If you have been injured in a Bus Accident in California, you may be eligible to receive Compensatory damages which include:
- Emergency room treatment
- Medical bills
- Medications and medical supplies
- Physical therapy
- In-home care
- Lost income
- Future lost income(if applicable)
- Auto Repair Expenses
- Loss of Consortium
- Pain and suffering
- Emotional pain
- Loss of enjoyment
- Court costs and fees(if applicable)
Why do I need a Bus Accidents Attorney?
When awarding Personal Injury damages, the court can apply a certain percentage of fault to each party involved in the accident. The damages you can claim and recover are proportional to the degree of fault (if any) you had in the accident.
If you suffer damages worth $ 20000, but if the defendant or the insurance company proves that you were 10% responsible for the accident, the court has the right to limit your compensation to $ 18000 under the “Comparative Negligence” appeal.
Insurance Companies/Claims Adjusters:
The claims adjuster from the insurance company will try to settle your claim for as little amount as possible. They persuade you to give up your rights to sue the driver in court in exchange of your settlement amount.
The first thing to do after a Bus Accident is to contact our experienced Bus Accidents Attorney.
Our Bus Accident Attorneys have the knowledge, expertise and resources to negotiate with the insurance companies and navigate through the legal procedures to get you the rightful compensation for your pain and suffering.
Statute of Limitation to file a Bus Accident Claim :
The California Statute of Limitations for suing a bus company is 6 months from the date of the accident. The victim must file a claim for damages, within these 6 months. Timeframe for filing a lawsuit is different from filing a claim, the time frame to file a lawsuit for a bus accident is 2 years.
While filing a claim for damages, you must fill-out an accident form with the Transit Authority responsible for the damages. After filing your claim with the transit company responsible, you will have 2 years from the date of the accident to file a Personal Injury lawsuit.
If you miss the statute of limitations for your case, the possibilities of reaching a positive outcome become very less.
What you need to know about Bus & Shuttle Accidents
It takes a lot of training to operate a commercial bus safely. Likewise, it can take extra attention to vehicle maintenance to ensure that a bus does not pose a hazard to other motorists. If someone made a mistake or failed to do their job and you were hurt in a bus accident, we can help.
As bus accident attorney, LA Injury Attorneys handle a full range of accidents, including:
1. Injuries to bus passengers.
2. Injuries to other motorists.
3. Injuries to pedestrians hit by a bus.